Advice on bending 1/4" flat bar steel
I'm interested in making table legs and shelf brackets out of 1/4" x 1.5" and 2" steel. I've been looking at the metalpro 4000 and 4500 as a possible option for doing this. I would be needing to make approximately a couple hundred brackets per month. My question is, Is this the right machine for the job??  I'm pretty new to this so I'm wondering if there are other/better options?? Possibly cheaper??? Thanks
Thanks given by:
The industry standard for something like that would be a hydraulic press brake, but you couldn't touch one even used for that kind of money. Better find out if there are stops that can be set for production runs like you are planning.

Tom
[Image: TomsTechLogo-Profile.png]
Thanks given by:
Welcome Brett

If its just a bender your after one of these will easily bend 1/2 x 2 flat bar.

https://www.kakaindustrial.com/products/...tal-bender

I've had one for years, amazing what they're capable of.
Free advice is worth exactly what you payed for it.
Greg
Thanks given by: Brett6366
(04-10-2018, 12:41 PM)f350ca Wrote: Welcome Brett

If its just a bender your after one of these will easily bend 1/2 x 2 flat bar.

https://www.kakaindustrial.com/products/...tal-bender

I've had one for years, amazing what they're capable of.

That may be exactly what i'm needing for now. My new question is, will my arms fall off if i'm trying to bend about 400 90 degree angles a month?? Seriously though I really think I may go ahead and buy this. Would my $$$ be better invested in the heavier duty models i see here as well?? Don't get me wrong I'm not afraid to go to work but i"m just curious as to how much work I would be getting myself into with this.
Thanks given by:
I'm by no means a body builder but have no trouble operating it. lol Actually getting old age pension now. Seriously have no idea what the actual poundage would be on the pull, I bent some 1/4 x 4 the other day, I had to put my back into it but had no trouble.